2013-2014 Faculty Award Winners

March 05, 2014

Each year we honor a few of GW's teaching stars: faculty and graduate students who have acted on their belief that all GW students can excel. They've put effort and considerable creativity into helping students do their best work. In that process, they have demonstrated just how transformative both learning and teaching can be. The Teaching & Learning Collaborative congratulates the recipients of the 2013–2014 Faculty Awards.

Please join us at the Fourth Annual Faculty Honors Ceremony on March 31st to recognize the recipients for their dedication, research, and service to the University.

Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg Prize for Teaching Excellence

  • Anupama Phene, Associate Professor and Grub Distinguished Scholar of International Business

Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg Prize for Faculty Scholarship

  • James E. Foster, Professor of Economics and International Affairs; Director, Institute for International Economic Policy

Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg Prize for Service

  • Kathryn Newcomer, Director, The Trachtenberg School of Public Policy and Public Administration

Morton A. Bender Teaching Award

  • Ellen F. Goldman, Associate Professor of Human & Organizational Learning, and Clinical Research & Leadership and
    Director, Master Teacher Leadership Development Programs
  • Jacqueline S. Barnett, Assistant Professor, Department of Physician Assistant Studies
  • Natalia Romanova, Professorial Lecturer in English for Academic Purposes

Philip J. Amsterdam Graduate Teaching Award

  • Andrew Du, Department of Anthropology
  • Yiseon Yoo, Department of Economics
  • Shannon Mancus, Department of American Studies
  • Sarah Alcala, Department of Immunology, Institute of Biomedical Sciences